Photograph credit:Facebook/Chennai Super Kings

Chennai Super Kings’ comeback in IPL turns out their greatest season

Eight cricket teams with a star-studded line up of cricketers battled against each other over a period of 50 days and 64 matches and Chennai Super Kings(CSK) emerged winners for the third time.

Shane Watson’s 117* led Chennai Super Kings to victory

Runers-up Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) scored 178 in the first innings. Thanks to skipper Kane Williamson’s 47 in the middle overs and Yusuf Pathan’s quickfire 45* in the end, gave a fighting total to men in yellow. Openers Shane Watson and Faf Du Plessis got off to a slow start and a miss-hit by Du Plessis got him out scoring 10. Suresh Raina stepped and his partnership with Watto took Chennai Super Kings winning ways.
At a point of time in the match when the run rate touched 10.50 runs per over, it seemed like Sunrisers Hyderabad had higher chances of winning. Fun fact, Shane Watson got off the mark on his 11th ball and went on to score an unbeaten 117* of 57 balls with a strike rate exceeding 200 and hit 11 fours and eight sixes. Raina went on to score 32 from 24 balls followed by a cheeky dismissal by spinner Rashid Khan. Ambati Rayudu came in scoring 16 runs including the winning four.

Chennai Super Kings made a comeback in IPL after three years

Doesn’t sound that long yeah? Ask any CSK fan and they’d tell what a journey it has been, after the suspension issued in 2015. Both Chennai Super Kings and Rajasthan Royals were suspended from playing in IPL because an investigation discovered the two teams were involved in ‘spot-fixing3’, according to sports news website Cricinfo. The two teams were allowed to play this year and Rajasthan Royals too made it into the qualifiers, ending at 4th position.

Mumbai Indians and Chennai Super Kings are tied for most titles

Last night’s victory puts Chennai Super Kings in a tie with Mumbai Indians for most IPL titles, winning thrice. The rivals have faced each other thrice in the finals over the years, with Mumbai Indians emerging victorious in the 2015 and 2013 edition, while Chennai Super Kings won the 2010 edition. The men in blue were the champions of the previous edition in 2017.

Sunil Narine and Rishabh Pant won big at the awards

Kolkata Knight Riders’ all-rounder star Sunil Narine had a phenomenal season this year with the bat and the ball, which earned him the ‘Most Valuable Player’ and ‘Super Striker of the Season’ awards for scoring 357 runs and taking 17 wickets from the 16 matches. Young batting sensation Rishabh Pant from Delhi Daredevils, on the other hand, won the ‘Stylish Player of the Season’ and ‘Emerging Player of the Season’ awards for being the second highest run scorer, with 684 runs in 14 matches.

Kane Williamson and Andrew Tye led this year with the bat and the ball

Sunrisers Hyderabad’s captain Kane Williamson won the ‘Orange Cap’ for being the highest run scorer, with 735 runs from 17 matches and Kings XI Punjab’s bowler Andrew Tye won the ‘Purple Cap’ for being the highest wicket taker, getting 24 wickets in 14 matches. Williamson’s national teammate Trent Boult won the ‘Perfect Catch of the Season’ for his catch close to the boundary line to dismiss Royal Challengers Banglore’s captain, Virat Kohli.