england icc cricket world cup win

England Wins Cricket World Cup Final After Dramatic Tie Versus New Zealand

Ben Stokes anchored England to a nail-biting finish versus New Zealand to help his side lift the Cricket World Cup for the first time ever.

England crowned the Cricket World Cup champions after super-over

New Zealand’s Henry Nicholls (55) and Tom Latham (47) helped the Kiwis score a moderate 241 in the first innings. Chris Woakes and Liam Plunkett took the most wickets, sharing three each, with support from Jofra Archer and Mark Wood getting a wicket each.

England, unlike their reputation as a strong opening line-up, were off to a slow start until Ben Stokes and Jos Buttler arrived to the crease. The duo shared a crucial 110-run partnership to revive England’s chances of winning until Tim Southee caught Buttler out for 59. Stokes led the chase himself, scoring 84* to help England tie versus New Zealand.

Dramatic final over

New Zealand’s bowlers held their nerves in the death overs, getting eight wickets until the last over. The stage was set for England, needing 15 runs of the last six balls. Stokes made victory seem a tad easier with a six in the third ball, needing nine more runs in three balls.

Six runs conceded in an overthrow

Things got out of hand for the Kiwis after an overthrow in the fourth ball conceded four runs, in addition to Stokes’ two runs.

england icc cricket world cup win ben stokes

Photograph credit: Firstclick

Two wickets in the last two balls

England needed three runs of the last two balls. Stokes hit the penultimate delivery outside off, running for two runs. However, Mitchell Santner got the non-striker, Adil Rashid run out, restricting England to one run. In the final ball, Mark Wood, the last batsman, smacked a full toss to long-on running for two runs, but in similar fashion, was run out before making it to the crease.

Super-over tie

England, batting first, scored 15 runs in their super-over. New Zealand chased down 14 runs in the first five balls, needing two from the final ball. Martin Guptill managed to score one run, enough to tie the super-over.

england icc cricket world cup win jos buttler

Photograph credit: ICC

England’s win based on boundary count

Despite a tie, England wins the World Cup based on the boundary count. England hit 22 fours, while New Zealand hit 14 fours.