FIFA World Cup
Photograph credit:

Germany’s Loss To South Korea Continues A Daunting World Cup Trend

FIFA World Cup’s defending champions Germany had an unsuccessful campaign at Russia 2018 after losing to South Korea in a Group F match but their loss reflects on a frightening record in football.

World Cup champions’ curse continues on Germany

Unable to repeat the success from the 2014 World Cup, Germany continues the curse of World Cup champions crashing out of the tournament in the group stages. It started with France winning the 1998 World Cup and were out in the group stages in the 2002 World Cup. Next came Italy, who won the 2006 World Cup but failed in the 2010 World Cup, exiting in the group stages, followed by Spain winning the 2010 World Cup and crashing out of the 2014 World cup in the group stages.

Photograph credit: iFOOH

South Korea won 2-0 against Germany

Both the countries lost two matches to Sweden and Mexico. The dead rubber match was the only opportunity for the two teams to earn a victory this World Cup. However, South Korea, which is ranked 57th in the FIFA rankings, created a World Cup upset after defeating Germany, 2-0, thanks to goals by Kim Young-Gwon in Son Heung-min scoring at the 92nd and 96th minute.

Germany has only been kicked out from group stages twtice

Russia 2018 didn’t only continue the World Cup champions’ curse but also broke a prestigious 80 years old record by Germany. You’d be surprised to know that Germany has only been out of the FIFA World Cup group stages once, in 1938, when they lost 4-2 to Switzerland in the First Round. Plus, it’s the first time for Germany to be ranked outside the top three in 20 years. After losing 0-3 to Croatia in the 1998 World Cup quarter-finals, they’ve maintained their rankings in the top three ever since.

Round of 16 starts from June 30th

Group stages are coming to an end as the only group to determine its qualifiers are Group H. It will be interesting to see how the Group H results turn out because three teams; Japan, Senegal and Colombia have won one match each and eventually the goal difference will matter to determine the qualifiers. Group G teams are remaining with one match each but England and Belgium have qualified, winning two matches each. The two teams will be playing tomorrow to determine the table topper.