Image credit: Dubai Media Office

Transit passengers at Dubai Airports can soon step out to the city

UAE Cabinet’s latest approved law can make transit passengers at Dubai Airports avail an entry visa for a limited to tour the city.

70 million transit passengers were at Dubai International Airport in 2017

Last year, 89 million passengers visited Dubai International Airport, out of which 70 million of them were transit passengers. Whereas, 70% of total passengers that travelled through airports in the country were transit passengers. The new visa will no longer restrict passengers from staying in the airports.

Visa-on-arrival eligibility is applicable to 22 countries

Only 50 nationalities are eligible for getting a visa-on-arrival and can visit the country. The new visa will give flexibility to uneligible passengers to visit the city for a limited time. According to Visit Dubai, the list of countries eligible for visa-on-arrival are: Andorra, Australia, Brunei, Canada, Vatican City, Hong Kong, Ireland, Japan, Malaysia, Chile, Monaco, Russia, San Marino, Seychelles, Singapore, Ukraine, Mauritius, China, Kazakhstan, New Zealand, United Kingdom and United States of America.

Dubai received 15.8 million tourists last year

Up to 15.8 million tourists visited Dubai last year, higher than its rate in 2016, which was 14.9 million. India made the highest number of tourists, with 2.1 million visitors, followed by Saudi Arabia with 1.5 million and followed by the UK, with 1.3 million. The top ten list of highest tourists were from a mix of Arab, Asian and West European countries.

Dubai Tourism Vision

By 2020, the Dubai Tourism Vision aims to attract 20 million visitors and is focusing on three objectives emphasizing on maintaining market share in existing markets, increasing market share in specific markets and by having repeat visits.